Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus clonal types in the Czech Republic.

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

64 Citations (Scopus)


Molecular surveillance studies have documented the extensive spread of methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) clones. Studies carried out by Centro de Epidemiologia Molecular-Network for Tracking Gram-Positive Pathogenic Bacteria (CEM/NET) led to the identification of two international multidrug-resistant strains, which were designated as the Iberian and Brazilian MRSA clones and which were defined by multiple genomic typing methods; these included ClaI restriction digests hybridized with mecA- and Tn554-specific DNA probes and pulsed-field gel electrophoresis (PFGE). The genotypic characteristics of these clones are distinct: the Iberian clone is defined as mecA type I, Tn554 type E (or its variants), and PFGE pattern A (I:E:A), whereas the Brazilian clone is defined as mecA type XI (or its variants), Tn554 type B, and PFGE pattern B (XI:B:B). In this study, we characterized 59 single-patient isolates of MRSA collected during 1996 and 1997 at seven hospitals located in Prague and five other cities in the Czech Republic by using the methodologies mentioned above and by using ribotyping of EcoRI and HindIII digests hybridized with a 16S-23S DNA probe. The Brazilian MRSA clone (XI:B:B) was the major clone (80%) spread in two hospitals located in Prague and one located in Brno; the Iberian MRSA clone (I:E:A or its variant I:DD:A), although less representative (12%), was detected in two hospitals, one in Prague and the other in Plzen. Almost all the strains belonging to clone XI:B:B (45 of 47) corresponded to a unique ribotype, E1H1, whereas most strains of the I:E:A and I:DD:A clonal types (6 of 7) corresponded to ribotype E2H2.
Original languageUnknown
Pages (from-to)2798-803
JournalJournal Of Clinical Microbiology
Issue number9
Publication statusPublished - 1 Jan 1999

Cite this